Skip navigation

Last Monday was the birth day of Martin Luther King Jr.  Perhaps the greatest political philosopher of recent American history.  A man of peace.

There is not a better time to write this blog, it could be months and months before I get the opportunity to really talk about it but it need saying.

There are three assassinations that changed the course of American history in such a radical, and terrible way that we will always feel their effects, we certainly are now.  Great men and small men, but in the end they changed the course of history.  The actions that followed their deaths.

The three of them are Martin Luther King Jr, John F. Kennedy, and Abraham Lincoln.  Their deaths again forever changed the course of America.

Each of them succeeded by lesser men and lesser policies that did nothing to help the original cause, but to destroy it, and fundamentally alter it into something totally different then what they were fighting.

Whether it was through violence, or quasi policies that just represented the ones that came before that did not fix anything really so that years later we would have to do it again.

Now I am not exactly sure about a lot of this, I probably have a lot of the specifics on, so I do hope you bear with me and share your perspectives on this to tell me if I have any of this wrong.

With MLK his was a philosophy of peace, and brotherhood, and of unification.  That we are all Americans and the judgment of our character and not the color of our skin should determine who we are.   That some qualifier did not determine the entire content of our character.

That he was not about dividing, but about unifying, as Americans, one nation, under the principles and ideals of the United States Constitution.

Then he died.

And his legacy became the legacy of lesser men who had no interest in uniting people, but dividing them, by focusing on their skin color, and by focusing on their past to show what they feel we owed them for our sins.

And they used violence to get their way, something King did not tolerate.

Jack Kennedy got us involved in Vietnam, he was strong on national defense, and he was for tax cuts.  He would likely be a Republican today, and his policies did not match later on what happened with Ted Kennedy.

But then he died and history changed.

It became the war of lesser men with lesser policies who had no interest in fighting a war to win, but likely because it was Jack’s war.  The power at the time felt they had bigger fish to fry, but they had to fight it, and finish what they started.  Thus we got sucked into it and social policies changed.

Finally, Abraham Lincoln.  He had just finished the civil war, and was getting ready to start bringing the nation together again, based on peace and reconciliation.

And then he died.  And history changed forever.

Lincoln’s legacy would be inherited by  lesser men, and nothing changed.  Reconciliation and reconstruction became about continuing to divide the country, and make the South pay for the war.  Doing nothing to really fix the problem, as became clear by Jim Crow and others who wanted to return to the good ole days.

And because Lincoln died nothing stayed permanently fixed.

It is unclear exactly had these three men lived what the effect would have been.  But it is clear that their deaths continue to ripple to us to this day.

I hope we survive the mistake of three assassins, shooting three bullets, that killed three men.  I hope we can live this down.

6 Comments

  1. I’m glad you decided to write about this. I’m glad that someone had the guts to write this because, as you had written, it needed to be said.

    I have much to write about the ramifications of all three assassinations but I’ll on the one that has had the greatest impact on me personally: Martin Luther King.

    I need to preface this by writing about my personal background a wee bit. I’m NOT white, though many people treat me as though I were because of the way I look, speak, and act. Though I wasn’t born here, I can honestly

    The civil rights movement began by MLK has…mutated into political correctness. PC has encouraged people to explore their own cultural history and celebrate it. That’s all fine and dandy but if this preoccupation of diversity isn’t properly balanced by unity, then the result is a very predictable and terrible problem: self-segregation.

    PC has caused people to turn inward when we should be thinking about the unity in our country and there has never been a time when that unity has been more needed like it is now.

    The area where I live is very diverse yes, but can be easily navigated with very predictable ethnic neighborhoods. You cross a certain line on the map, you enter the Afghan community. You cross another line, it’s a white community. You cross yet another line, it’s mostly Mexicans or blacks.

    This self segregation extends to the personal level as well, which is the most hurtful and problematic part of the picture. My brother HATES whites, I am ashamed to say and he honestly believes he is not racist. For him, whites will always be the ones who are racist. He cannot understand why my closest friends have always been whites and other people outside my own ethnic group. This blindness to his own hate is unbelievable to me.

    My answer is simple: Things like fairness, truthfulness, and respect transcend ethnic lines, neighborhoods and state lines for me. It’s an incredible shame it can’t for him.

    There are many blacks who feel the same way my brother does towards whites. There are many Afghans near here who feel exactly the same way towards their neighbors from India. There are Filipinos who dislike their Chinese neighbors. It goes on and on and on… all the while the people in Washington continue to preach about diversity when we should be talking about unity.

    This is not a problem that will be solved by legislation from Washington–nor should it. The government cannot and should not force anyone to choose who their friends are. Instead, this is a problem that only we can solve. The government cannot force a black gang member to let go of his hatred for a rival Latino gang across town.

    So what’s the solution? We must examine ourselves and challenge ourselves. I challenge anyone who is NOT from the United States to read this and to reflect: When was the last time you spoke to someone outside your own ethnic group? Do you even have ANY close friends outside your own ethnic group? If you insist on concentrating on your country of origin’s language and not English, how do you expect to communicate with anyone outside your community? To those who are black: Do you have any white friends at all? Can you honestly look into a mirror and say that you’re willing to give someone who is white the same love and friendship that you would to someone who is black? To those who are white: Do you have any close friends that aren’t white?

    Events over the past two years have decimated my personal life and I have only two close friends remaining. One is a devout Christian woman who lives 30 minutes from me and the other is an agnostic man. I have had disagreements with both people but I still respect and love both people greatly. Five years, I probably would not have been friends with the man because he wasn’t a Christian. These days, I DON’T CARE anymore. A friend is a friend…is a friend.

    Ethnic disunity cannot be fixed by the government, nor should it. As with anyone born outside the US like myself, it’s up to us to take up the burden of bettering and educating ourselves and showing some respect and understanding to those who are here. This is NOT our country of origin. This is America. It is not the responsibility of this government nor its population to adapt the country to us. As WE are the immigrants, it is OUR responsibility to adapt to America, not the other way around. If I move to Russia, it would be ridiculous of me to expect the entire Russian population to learn English for my sake. I must adapt to them. The same goes here.

    I hope this disunity can be solved and soon…OUR country really needs it now.

    • well said, well said. Something that should be said…along with the whole thing with the diversity alliance.

  2. Excellent Blog Fols and made me think and certainly got Cold Fuzz going…. nice comments Fuzz! 😀 CF…I appreciate your honesty and candor…..from someone who’s not originally from this country. I applaud you sir!! 🙂
    But from someone who is from America originally….I feel that the PC stuff is a slippery slope. I do feel it is a problem yes….because it tries to make every conform to everyone…and that is just a logistical nightmare not to mention that is what causes the animocity to continue. But I have to reflect back to my days when I worked for GE Capital… EEK!! 😮 I know….but still I learned alot from having to teach Diversity awareness classes to our employees….now it is one thing to change your way of thinking and doing and being forced by the government to honor all cultures to the point it denegrates the Christian roots in our Country…. like fighting for the Menorah to be on public display but not allowing a Manger scene….so really where do you draw the line in the sand? I think that is the big question. Because on one hand you want to be sensitive to other cultures here so you are not rude and offensive..but you at the same time don’t want to forsake the Christian Heritage that this country was founded on for the sake of making them…all the other cultures to feel at home or not offended. So this is the tightrope we walk. And it is the point of contention for many of the ethnic cultures here IMO. So what are we to do?? Well you suggest to get to know the other cultures and we all need to do that. We all need to step out of our comfort zones and model that behavior…..as Jesus did when he walked with the Prostitutes and Samaritans and the diseased and dying. He did not exclude anyone. So really if we look again…to the Bible it gives us a perfect example of how to do this. TO be accepting but never forget who you are as a person and not allow what other people are doing to offend you. Know that that is their way…their faith…their ritual and move on. DOn’t dwell on it…don’t try and change them….just know that it is part of what makes America unique. The great melting pot….which for some can be quite disturbing…but for me… I like that we have some the most brilliant minds here…it is what makes us strong! And let’s face it….these geniuses were not all born here. So we need to embrace one another and realize that together with our differences that is what makes us truly a stronger Nation! 😉 If we can get past the pettiness and learn to work together for the common good in which we will all benefit!! 🙂

    • Thanks for your kind words, SQ. They’re truly appreciated. You’re correct that it’s difficult to know where to draw the line when it comes respecting other people’s cultures, religions, and traditions. Sometimes the line is very blurry. However, there are times when the line is very clearly drawn. Progressives I think have tried to blur this line but hopefully someone will reaffirm this line again in the future.

      Now you and Foley have never had to speak these words but I have and for me, they erase all ambiguity:

      “I hereby declare, on oath, that I absolutely and entirely renounce and abjure all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, state, or sovereignty of whom or which I have heretofore been a subject or citizen; that I will support and defend the Constitution and laws of the United States of America against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I will bear arms on behalf of the United States when required by the law; that I will perform noncombatant service in the Armed Forces of the United States when required by the law; that I will perform work of national importance under civilian direction when required by the law; and that I take this obligation freely without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; so help me God.”

      I spoke these words when I was 11. I was intelligent enough to know what these words truly meant and the responsibility that came with them. I think many immigrants have forgotten what this oath is about. And for those who are here illegally, to me,they have no right to speak these words.

      The Oath of Allegiance is absolutely clear. An immigrant’s first loyalty must be to the United States and no other country. There should be none of this business of someone planting their feet here and having their heart belonging somewhere else. This will sound harsh, but if an immigrant is not prepared to speak these words and be sincere about them, they have no business living in this country. Progressives would likely criticize this position to death but I stand by it. American citizenship would be meaningless otherwise.

      I think the Citizenship Oath makes it very clear to people who were not born here where their loyalties should be. My citizenship is one of the things I cherish the most in my life. It’s one of the main reasons I’ve chosen my line of work.

  3. This is an interesting discussion, and I would add the assisnation of RFK to y0ur list as well. Not as profound was the attempted assassination of George Wallce, which helped Nixon unify the south iont the NEW Republican Party. Fuyrther, Malcolm X was killed just before he was going to give the initial speech to create an American Muslim Chuirch which was open to all people–all races and backgrounds. The Black Muslims refused to except his idea, and the FBI was happy to stand by andlet hiom die. There is good evidence to suggest that Farrakah–leader of the American Nation of Islanm–was involved in planing the killing. Moreover, we need to find the killers: Allen Dulles, George HW Bush, CIA Assisant Direcotr, and a raft of far right wing nuts who have convinced the majority of Americans that the best walk is the strut, and the best salute is to racism, elitism, class superiority, and poverty for 40% of the American population. Note, too, the only liberal vopice on the natioanl radio field, AIR AMERICA is now out of business.

    • you, sir, are ignorant of the principles we as conservatives abide by…….we abide by the principles set forth first in the declaration of independence…that all human beings are created equal in dignity……it was us conservatives that supported the civil rights battles fought by MLK, Jr. and the women’s sufferage movements….these movements also enjoyed the full support of the Catholic Church

      the support was withdrawn for only one reason, both movements became infected by people who wanted to fight not for equality but for the “right” to turn the tables and fight to dominate just as they were dominated


Leave a Reply

