Skip navigation

Where to begin?

I suppose the beginning is a good start.

I suppose this all started where a friend of mine posted on her facebook page ‘sometimes the truth hurts.’

And I, in proper Glenn Beckian fashion, “the truth will set you free, but first it will make you miserable.” (Though that is not an Glenn Beck original).

Oh my how right that is.

It has occured to me recently, very recently, the truth and the overwhelming rightness of that statement. Because of something I have gone through.

But first what does this mean for the Republic?

I think people in this country knew that there was something wrong. We may have not had the complete picture of what was wrong, we may have not known and still may not know the full scope of it, but we knew the fundamental truth that there was something deeply wrong, something rotten in Denmark.

And it made us miserable.

Well the stock market is collapsing and is facing severe tremors and instability, well Gold is going through the roof, well there is a lot of societal angst, well the tactics and strategy in going against our enemies is not making sense, well a lot of politicians say our Founding Documents do not matter.

But for the longest time we did nothing about it. And in many cases still are not.

I think people even though they knew the truth did not know what to do about it, or were just too distracted.

This is not to insult the millions of workers and people who have jobs, or the millions of people who have gotten involved…

This is to say though that people lead busy lives, which in theory is the reason we elect representatives to help with the Governing process and the issues of Government.

That people are often too busy to pay attention to the complete political picture or any political picture, or worse, are apathetic.

That is not to say that we are asleep but that we have other perfectly legitimate concerns in our own lives that we have to deal with.

That we are too busy, or too preoccupied.

This is the truth and it has made us miserable.

And I should know from my own personal experience and my own life events.

Truth is I can be quite the miserable human being at times. I have made a lot of mistakes.

Truth is I am not the person I want to be or as active as I want to be or as good as I want to be or doing the small things that I know I must do to get to the big things.

The truth can only set me, and us, free if you are willing to do something about it.

What that is, I do not know, I do not know what I can do or what the future holds or what future mistakes I can make. I do not know what I can do about it exactly.

I guess all I can do is my best and hope for a little patience from my loved ones and my friends and the people that I am close to.

I ask for patience.

I am not going to change over night, and I have a long way to go.

I am proud of the things I have done, I have taken a stand, I do read, I write this blog. I am very proud of this blog and like it and it is a way that I have taken my stand. But I have a long way to go even here.

So the question becomes again, what am I going to do about it? I don’t know gang.

What I do know that I have to start moving in a direction and doing the little things.

Because that is part of changing. Change comes in two styles, all at once and in bursts, but then you have to sustain it.

So if I or we are going to change, we have to start doing the little things and we have to start making things right.

4 Comments

  1. you also have to be willing to learn from your mistakes so as not to repeat them if you ever hope to grow as a person as well…

    • Oh yes…easier said then done my friend. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But Neccessary.

  2. So true….it is so hard to face our mistakes and learn from them and then not repeat them. Being creatures of habit and typically not liking change…because most of the time change hurts we do tend to avoid it. We want to continue on the same safe path that we’ve been heading. But sometimes we do get to a point where we are forced to stop the car and get out and ask for directions, realize just how lost we are and then turn around and get on the right path. Sounds simple but sometimes just stopping the car and asking is the hardest part of all. *sigh* But we will prevail….we always do. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • eventually.


Leave a Reply

