Skip navigation

Bit more philosophical a topic then what the title suggests.

I have had limited experience in working or what it is like to find a job. I do, nothing can change that, but I feel I do have some piece of information that I can share that provides some insight on what is going on.

You see, the first time I was looking for a job, probably my first interview actually, something interesting happened.

It was a small innocuous thing but as I consider going out, looking for a job, and what the repercussions, and the joys and the set backs will be, and considering just what it might be like it gives me great pause.

The interviewer asked me a question…more of a statement actually…about having to join their employers union.

At the time it made me uncomfortable…but after years of growth and experience it would be down right unsettling if it were asked today.

You see Government…and hell lets just say it…some of their business interests, allies, and ‘cronies’ have all come out and banded together to take away freedom and choice in all areas of our society.

From health care, to jobs, to the market, to housing, to your education almost everything is being forced onto a Government roll of some sort.

With Housing it is in the area of ninety-eight percent of all loans are owned by them, either directly or indirectly.

In school…need I say more?

In health care they just passed a law that will force more and more people into a Government system when companies cannot meet the standards. Or it will force companies to adopt standards that will be defacto Government Run.

So jobs is just another piece of the puzzle. Government and people proposing laws to have forced unionization of companies, etc.

That to work you have to join a union, or to work you have to join a company and then you have to join their unions.

Now call me stupid but maybe I can represent myself?

Also call me stupid I have already spent enough time looking for a company that matches my objectives and tastes to work at a company then to turn around and be forced to spend money on dues that I cannot always be sure of their intentions, or that they truthfully represent my values or have my best interest at heart.

You see my quandary.

I value freedom of choice, in almost everything I do. Its going to be hard trying to find it, and thus make the hunt even more harder, as I go out into the world.

4 Comments

  1. I hear you ….but usually these big companies DO NOT want their employees in the unions. I mean I remembered when I was a supervisor at GE… Yeah I know (shudders) we had (as management) to attend mandatory…Union awareness meetings to try and ward off any potential underpinnings of possible union formation. They did NOT want unions. So IDK…. I think it does depend on the company and that is where you do have to do your homework and decide do you want someone owning you? That is basically sometimes what it boils down to…..sad but true. 😦

    • I know but the world has changed a lot recently. And the country. I mean I have no idea of your time line but…and no idea of GEs timeline for that matter but,….well things have changed. Who knows?

        • squirrely1
        • Posted November 10, 2010 at 2:31 am
        • Permalink

        Blah….blah….blah….yeah I know I’m older and things have changed but seriously…. GE has not changed it’s position on Unions….trust me. Usually big businesses (corporations) do not want unions cuz they tie their hands and force them into doing things that they do not want to do. Unless this is all just a big charade and front for the fact that they are in bed with them. But this I highly doubt. But who knows :S

        • colfoley
        • Posted November 10, 2010 at 2:45 am
        • Permalink

        Hey I was trying to be delicate! :p

        And I was not really talking about your age but you have been stuck in a…highly unionized profession. Known as the teachers. :P. I am not saying that is bad or anything just that you have been a while removed from ‘corporate’ America and I just do not know either to tell you the truth,


Leave a Reply

